AISSAC is the Southern African Chapter of the AIS and was constituted in October 2012.

The board members are:

  • President: A/Prof Maureen Tanner
  • President-Elect: A/Prof Roxanne Piderit
  • Immediate Past President: Dr Emma Coleman
  • Secretary: Sunet Eybers
  • Treasurer: Prof Hugo Lotriet
  • Student Chapter: Mr Grant Oosterwyk

At-Large Directors of the Chapter:

  • Prof Jason Cohen
  • Prof Aurona Gerber
  • Prof Melius Weideman
  • Mr Pitso Tsibolane
  • Dr Marita Turpin

The South African Institute for Computer Scientists and Information Technologists (SAICSIT) decided at its council meeting and business meetings in October 2011 to investigate the possibility of forming closer (formal) ties with the Association for Information Systems (AIS). After permission was obtained from the AIS, it was decided In October 2012 to actuate this decision by the chartering of a Southern African chapter of the AIS as an independent body with close ties with SAICSIT. The chapter was officially constituted at the annual SAICSIT conference on 3 October 2012, in Centurion, Tshwane. The name of the chapter is AISSAC (AIS Southern African Chapter).

 Connect with us: